Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

New Raw Foodie
Posted by: keisan ()
Date: January 24, 2009 08:25AM

Hello all! smiling smiley

Came to seek out some support for the new raw food lifestyle, well new and improved me that I'm embarking on. I'm a 21 year old student, so quite poor it feels like but I want to do something that'll matter.

Aside from all that, I discovered the raw food movement in 2007 when I was out west (I'm in Ontario, Canada and I travelled west to Alberta, Canada), and attempted to go 100% raw. Certainly, that didn't work for me, although I'd loved it if it had. So now, after re-discovering raw food, I want to give it another shot. I have been a vegetarian (lacto-ovo-vegetarian) since April 2007 and partially vegetarian (sans red meat) since 2001. It was pretty gradual but the turn off of chicken occurred after a particularly bad tasting chicken wing.

The turn to the vegetarian lifestyle was in part due to my paranoia about what was actually in my food and what it might be doing to my body once I learned about some of the farming techniques and such. But the other part is due to my growing concern over my weight and emotional state.

I've battled depression and anxiety since I was in high school and I feel like my weight has a big connection to that battle. From what I've seen with raw foods through reading and learning and listening, those ailments don't have to stay around for the rest of one's life and a person can actually help deal with those things through proper diet.