Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

New to raw
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: April 30, 2009 02:45PM

First, I want to express my sincere gratitude for all of the people who have shared their incredible experiences eating raw and cleansing their minds, bodies, and spirits in this forum. You are all truly inspirations and remind me on a daily basis why I have decided to make this lifestyle change.

I am still very new to raw-foodism. Over the past few months I have worked hard to increase my daily intake of raw foods and have significantly decreased my intake of meat, dairy, and processed foods.

I am only on Day 3 of attempting 100% raw eating, but I feel great! I say attempting because my goal is not perfection, but commitment to this change in my life. I have been surprised at the amount of energy I have had. I haven't felt hungry at all. I have had headaches, but lots of water and some protein have kept them to a minimum. Cravings have crept up, but instead of falling back into my old ways, I have found raw substitutes for many of my old favorites.

My eating habits have always been a very sensitive subject for me. I have struggled for years with food addiction and bulimia. My relationship with food has been self-destructive for many years and has greatly affected my health. I have developed a heart murmur, thyroid disease, and GI tract issues, all of which my doctor attributes to bulimia. I am only 24 years old and the idea of living that way any longer has become too terrible to bear.

So this is me developing a positive relationship with food. It's been a long process, but I finally feel ready to make a real change and start to love myself and the food that sustains me.

Thank you for listening.

Kili