Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Living and Raw Foods Lifestyle
Posted by: Ksee ()
Date: April 30, 2007 03:16PM

Ok...I have decided to start this journal because it will help keep me honest.

I would like to introduce myself to the community: I am a 40 yr. old female and I live in Western NY State. I am a certified Dog Instructor/Educator. I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes about 2 yrs. ago now...I have struggled all my life with this and with severe hypoglycemia. I have had every test under the sun and my results were always the same...NEGETIVE! I was put on Metformin 1000mg/dayand Starlix 3x's/day. I am an advid walker and eventually I was taken off of the Starlix...this medication lowers bs. I started seeing an Endocrinologist and they wanted me to do a hostipalized 72hr. fast...to get blood during my crashes. The problem was...I crashed after having breakfast. I would check my bs in the morning before breakfast and it would be great...83-94 then AFTER eating it would drop to 43-54! This would be EVERY day. Needless to say, I was discharged after 24hrs. b/c my bs were normal. This illness had totally taken over my life. I could no longer work, walk or basically pursue anything in life...without the constant worry of crashing! A month ago I had a bad bs crash and I said to myself, there has to be something that I can do to help myself...but what?? I decided to become a vegetarian and after a week of that I went to Vegan. I still felt that I could more but I didn't know what...then I came across Raw Foods...I kicked myself up a notch and well, here I am! LOL