Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

favorite sprouts
Posted by: Mona ()
Date: June 13, 2006 12:13PM

I'm just getting into sprouting and was wondering what your favorite sprouts were.

So far I've only tried kamut, quinoa, sunflower seeds, and flax seeds. Out of those I like kamut and sunflower seeds the best. Quinoa doesn't have much of a taste and is more like filler,imo. I like flax sprouts but am still having a hard time sprouting them. I've tried various things, but without much luck.

Anyway, I'm going back to Berkeley CA next month and plan on getting more seeds. So your favorites will have an influence over my purchases. I buy alfalfa sprouts regularly, so I'm not sprouting those myself.

Thanks for your input.

Mona

So often times it happens that we live our lives in chains and we never even know we have the key.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: favorite sprouts
Posted by: EmilyS ()
Date: June 13, 2006 12:35PM

I've always liked wheat. I blend the sprouts up and make 'bread'. The sprouts alone are very sweet.

Mung beans are nice. Red clover is tasty too. I actually grew sunflower greens, and those were amazing. I really have to try kamut. I've bet that + flax would make an awesome bread!

Posted by: luna_sky_1 ()
Date: June 13, 2006 03:01PM

I think I'm finding my favorite are brocolli sprouts. I'd never tried them before tis week, but I like them in wraps and salads.

Posted by: chickory ()
Date: June 13, 2006 06:32PM

Hi Mona,
This is the best book I've found so far about sdproutingL
Sprout Garden: Indoor Grower's Guide to Gourmet Sprouts by Mark Braunstein.