Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

alcohol
Posted by: juicegirl ()
Date: July 12, 2006 06:59AM

i AM NEW TO A RAW FOOD DIET. I need some input about alcohol. Which alcohols, if any, are considered raw? I have lways enjoyed a beer at a cookout and champagne at weddings. I have weddins coming up and I wonder if i m able to toast with the rest of the crowd?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: alcohol
Posted by: singinraw ()
Date: July 12, 2006 07:26AM

Hi juicegirl,
As far as I know wine is raw and I believe champane would be too.

Beer that you get in bottles and cans is pasturized although I do remember hearing that kegs of beer like they have on tap at the bar is raw. I'm not positive if its really raw though.

All hard liquor and spirits would be cooked and well I also have found they can be the most harmful too.

If your looking for the healthiest way to feel a little typsy, lol!! I would say wine(I think red is the best) would be the healthiest option followed by champane.

Good luck smiling smiley I hope this helps you out smiling smiley

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: July 12, 2006 09:51AM

Opinion:

-Raw is not just 'uncooked'...but is also the most vital food available. A good test of how good a food / beverage is for you is to project out in your mind and determine how comfortable YOU would be....just eating / drinking that ONE food for many days or weeks.

-Alcohol is a nervous system depressant....and probably not very sustaining or vital for the long haul! smiling smiley However, if YOU feel that drinking it will improve your life....make you healthier and more vital....then I encourage you to do so!

-David Mason

Posted by: singinraw ()
Date: July 12, 2006 11:31AM