Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

HELP with Dehydrators - 5 tray or 9 tray????
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 15, 2007 04:39AM

Any suggestions for buying a dehydrator. I am new to this and the 5-tray seems like enough but seems like the 9 is more popular.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Dori

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: HELP with Dehydrators - 5 tray or 9 tray????
Posted by: alive! ()
Date: March 15, 2007 06:36AM

I bought the 5 tray shortly after going raw and I wish that I had bought the 9 tray. When I go shopping and bring home lots of nuts and seeds, I like to soak and sprout and dehydrate them and many times I have to "stagger" things because I don't have enough trays.

Also, when the garden "explodes" and I'm trying to dehydrate tomatoes, I need the extra trays. If you can afford the extra - I vote for the nine tray.

LIfe Is Good!

alive!

Posted by: Lorretta ()
Date: March 15, 2007 10:50PM

Nine tray gets my vote too smiling smiley

Posted by: sodoffsocks ()
Date: March 15, 2007 11:04PM

No! TEN trays is best:
[sausagemaker.com]

;-)

Or, if you've got more money, 12 trays is better:
[sausagemaker.com]

I have the D10 and really like it. Stainless steel is way nicer than plastic, and will last longer (the plastic gets brittel after a few years).

Cheers,
Ian.

Posted by: greenie ()
Date: March 15, 2007 11:29PM

I have a small place and prepare food just for myself. I bought the 9-tray and replaced it with the 5 tray because the 9 tray model has a larger fan and it was very noisy.

If I had a large enough place I would definitely have the 9 tray model. But I live in a small space and the rooms all open into each other. So I could hear the thing in my bedroom.