Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Thinking about going raw
Posted by: MrHaney ()
Date: April 29, 2007 05:30PM

A few years ago I packed on some serious weight going from a normal 212 to about 260. So my main motivation is weight loss and avoidance of health problems that result from the extra weight.

What are books you would recommend for someone who has never done this before.

I have always liked veggies and fruits and have never been a heavy meat eater, so I can see myself adapting to this lifestyle. Plus I have all the motivation in the world.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Thinking about going raw
Posted by: Fud ()
Date: April 29, 2007 06:13PM

I'm just starting out myself but:

Here's a list of books I've found on this site and others:

Doug Graham's 80/10/10 Diet [www.foodnsport.com]
Natural Hygiene online book [tinyurl.com]
Matt Monarch's book [www.RawSpirit.org]
Victoria boutenko's books [www.rawfamily.com]
Allisa Cohen's books [www.alissacohen.com]

I'm leaning more towards Doug Graham's book and the natural hygiene online book with some supplementary reading from victoria boutenko's books on green smoothies to see if it helps the cravings. I'm a big salad eater by nature but have to give up the oils that a lot of people use when first getting into raw. I love field greens but need to find a new 'dressing' that isn't using rancid oils.

I've decided, for myself to try to stay fresh and living and as close to "fresh off the plant" as possible with little to no processing even in home. I don't know how well I'll be able to stick to that but it's my goal.

I wish you well in your search. I hope these books help.

[rawfoodtrip.blogspot.com]
[jugglingforjoy.com]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/29/2007 06:14PM by Fud.