Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Raising Raw Kids
Posted by: Frannie ()
Date: July 16, 2007 03:36PM

I was writing this in response to a post on another thread but it got so long that I decided to put it on a new thread. There seem to be a lot of people who are trying to feed their kids raw on this board at the moment so it might be helpful to have a raw kids thread where we can share experiences and ask questions.

I have been raising two children (10 and 16) raw for almost 5 years and it is not always easy. The eating itself is the easy bit. Most kids will have some fruits that they really like and you can spoil them and really fill them up with smoothies. If you use a banana base, smoothies are a cheap way to feed them as well. Just add an orange, mango, strawberries etc. I haven't met a kid yet who doesn't like them.

When you first start out there's probably only a very small range of raw fruits and vegetables that they will like to eat raw. My youngest only ate bananas and salads made with broccoli and tomatoes. Now he eats almost everything. My eldest only ate apples and sunflower seeds and very basic salads. We never really got into gourmet raw much for which I'm glad because now both my kids are into a really simple raw diet. Mostly fruit, smoothies, with at least one green smoothie a day and a green juice every day. About once a week or so they will have a very simple gourmet dish. I only make raw cakes for birthdays.