Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

opinions on fermented foods, raw vs. "living" foods
Posted by: MauiGreg ()
Date: September 14, 2007 12:25AM

Hi everyone, I guess I am still in transition. I've been changing my eating habits since May and for the last 2 months have been almost all raw. i'm trying to learn all I can and I'm realizing that everyone has their own ideas of what is truly raw or living food. In a previous post about MSG in Braggs aminos i had asked about miso and it started me thinking about fermented foods.

I see many raw recipes in raw uncook books that call for miso or unpasturized soy sauce (Nama shoyu). The reasoning is that although they are made from cooked food, that they are fermented and therefore have benificial enzymes and bacteria. Also other fermented foods like saurkraut or kimchee and rejuvelac have been altered from their natural state and are supposed to be very healthy. I'm aware of the high sodium content of miso and shoyu and I'm slowly weening myself from that,but are there other benifits from the bacteria produced during fermentation?

I would be very interested to hear everyones opinions about this. Please feel free to rant and rave as I love the amazing collection of diverse opinions on this site.

Aloha and Mahalo, Greg

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: opinions on fermented foods, raw vs. "living" foods
Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: September 14, 2007 02:38AM