Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

new to raw foods, new to this site, mood swing questions
Posted by: MauiGreg ()
Date: September 06, 2007 07:56PM

Aloha everyone, I'm so glad that I found you all. I've been lurking for a few weeks, reading posts and being inspired by all of you. My journey to raw started almost unintentionally last may. I did a 21 day master cleanse and afterwords I paid careful attention to what my body wanted me to eat. Before the cleanse I had been eating pretty poorly... not typical fast/junk food, but still lots of dairy and some meat, but a majority of my diet was cooked. As I started to pay attention to what my body needed, I started eating lots of sprouts (beans and greens), avocados, and lots of fresh fruits and vegitables. After a few months I realized that most of what I was eating was raw. The only exceptions was organic non-fat yogurt, sprouted grain (ezekiel) bread and nuts(most were labeled raw, but I understand now that they may not be). I stopped the yogurt last month and replaced it with home-made nut milks and now I might only have a few slices of sprouted grain bread each week, but other than that everything is raw and I feel better than I could ever have imagined. I could go on and on about all of the positive changes that have occurred, but what i have a question about is the emotional component of switching to a raw lifestyle. Physically i feel on top of the world, but emotionally it has been a wild ride. Is this something that other raw fooders have experienced during their switch? Sometimes I really feel like I'm losing my mind... ultra-sad one minute, full of rage the next, with periods of serenity and happiness sprinkled throughout. I don't worry about back-sliding because i have a