Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

unsure about eating schedule with raw diet? help please...
Posted by: ddreams76 ()
Date: October 22, 2007 02:09AM

hi. sorry for all my posts but im new to raw and seem to have a lot of questions. so, i keep reading and reading and seem to have come to the conclusion that rawfoodists (especially those who eat mostly fruit) seem to eat 3 times a day and thats it. breakfast, lunch and dinner. oodles of fruit in one sitting. I seem to be hungry throughout the day, even before going raw. i think partially because i workout a lot. not sure. i wish i wasnt always hungry! i hate it! but anyway..here is my question...

is it important to only eat in such a pattern...basically 3 meals a day. or is it okay to eat smaller throughout the day? like fruit throughout the day. green veggies or salad for dinner. fruit for desert. etc. basically eating something every couple hours. is this bad...

if the answer also relies on my goals...they are simple...lose 10-15lbs and get nice and healthy (fix a couple hormonal issues), more energy.

thanks for your help. i need it.

d

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: unsure about eating schedule with raw diet? help please...
Posted by: Sparkler ()
Date: October 22, 2007 02:19AM

Digestion takes up energy, so it's more optimal for your body if you eat bigger meals in fewer sittings. If you're eating all day long, then your body is working hard to digest food all day long.

But when you're first transitioning to raw, it is difficult to get in enough food to satiate you because fruits and veggies contain so much water, you tend to fill up really quick.