Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Coming off tranquilisers - do fruits help?
Posted by: badawie ()
Date: December 22, 2007 08:33PM

Hello,

I've been doing the fruit thing for a few months now. I noticed they make me really sleepy and calm, and help me fall asleep and stay asleep.

So a friend of mine is coming off valium after 5 years. She's pretty frazzled, and anxious all day. This will pass, but I'm trying to give her suggestions that might help. Her diet is pretty healthy (no lacto vegetarian), but I was telling her about the effect fruit has on me, and she asked why?

I have no answer for her! Any one out there know?

Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Coming off tranquilisers - do fruits help?
Posted by: cocoa_nibs ()
Date: December 22, 2007 08:41PM

Possibly: carbohydrates are the vehicles by which amino acids travel into the brain (passing the blood brain barrier). Amino acids (such as Tryptophane) are the essential building blocks of neurotransmitters, such as serotonin. Serotonin helps regulate appetite, sleep cycles and mood (SSRIs block Serotonin reuptake in the brain hence prolonging Serotonin's calming and mood enhancing effects - but, as very strong drugs, also having detrimental effects on the receptors).

I used to be a low carber and had severe mood issues. Ever since I started on the fuit meals, I have seen some magnificent changes in sleep, appetite etc. Fruit is, of course, mostly carbs, the kind kind. One of the biggest differences I notce is that I now dream very vividly and frequently, whereas I never used to dream.

There are specific protocols how you can help detox after tranquilizers. I think you might find by googleing.
Best wishes to your friend!

Date: December 22, 2007 08:56PM