Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Benefits of juicing???? What about Kombucha???? More????
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: January 21, 2008 11:23PM

Hi everyone-

I'm totally new to the raw foods thing...like a week of info gathering so far. I don't really have any health problems I'm trying to remedy, just looking to keep it that way for a long time. Oh and I'm 26, male, and active. Previously I have been all over the map with my diet from nearly all fast-food in high school to about 75% vegetarian/non-processed (basically I never avoided anything given to me but never actively sought meat or highly processed foods). I have a few questions that I'm sure I could answer myself if I read a few books but I'll ask them here in hopes that you all can save me a little time by recommending the right books to start off with.

First off, what the heck is the benefit of juicing? For example, I love to eat my oranges and grapefruits and bananas whole, it seems to me that the fiber is one of the main attractions. Why discard it? Animals in the wild certainly don't do much juicing. I am at what I consider to be an optimal weight (6 ft. tall and 175 lbs.) so I'm not trying to lose any pounds (I have a friend who is all about shedding 30% of her mass on the CRON diet in an attempt to live to 175 years old...that's not me).