Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

IBS and RAW
Posted by: gonenuts ()
Date: February 08, 2008 03:47AM

I'm doing Raw for one month now, this forum has helped alot and I love reading all the posts. I think Im older than most of you,LOL,I have been battling an Autoimmune disease for the past 10 years, looking for answers in food and not "accepting medicines". In my heart I Know that "raw" is wonderful> I've been suffering though the past few days, my IBS has kicked in again. This is one of the symptoms of the disease. Any way after talking to an Accupunturist/Chinese herbalist they feel that some people need to have warming foods Ie. soup/Tea, my body type is cold/low blood pressure.
I guess my question is have any of you come across this with your own journeys, or have you heard of others that have been able to reach optimum health with "Raw" and not further irritate their digestive systems?
I truly appreciate any comments on this, as I really have been trying, picked up Victorias book the other day 12 steps to Raw, it was an easy and good read.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: IBS and RAW
Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: February 08, 2008 04:20AM

I have and recommend Self Healing Colitis & Crohn's by David Klein. This book will explain how to heal IBS with diet and lifestyle changes alone.

Here are Dave's websites:

[www.colitis-crohns.com]
[www.selfhealingempowerment.com]

Posted by: cocoa_nibs ()
Date: February 08, 2008 04:21AM

Hi gonenuts, I highly recommend this book: Healing with Whole Foods by Pitchford. In it you can find some recommendations for raw warming foods. 'Warming' in Chinese medicine does not necessarily mean 'cooked'. Cherries (raw), for example are a warming raw food.