Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

do the cravings subside??
Posted by: mookie ()
Date: April 09, 2008 09:33PM

I am new to all this, I have started before and then fallen away. But I have never stuck it out long enough for it to become second nature. I feel like I have an ever shrinking window of opportunity to preserve my health - I'll be 38 this year, and my dad had his first heart attack at 42! And I have been walking in his footsteps until now- I am being scared raw at this point. I remember getting that light, almost empty feeling before, but I never got to a point where I didn't want every ice cream cone and piece of toast that crossed my path -even though I felt so much better, I still wanted the junk food. does that every subside? or will it always be such a struggle?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: do the cravings subside??
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: April 09, 2008 09:47PM

From what I have read and heard the cravings for cooked junk definately go away after a while.How long that takes is anybodys guess.
I can relate to the "being scared raw".My father had triple bypass not long ago.
And my grandfather died of a heart attack.
Brian

Posted by: tanawana ()
Date: April 09, 2008 09:53PM

Cravings will and do subside, but everyone varies how long it takes and to what degree they subside. Some cravings take months, some take years, some longer. Some cravings are emotional, some are habit, some are taste, etc. You get the picture I hope :O) Just take it a day at a time and be patient is the key I believe.

Posted by: ksmanthey ()
Date: April 09, 2008 10:03PM

And eating before you are hungry sure helps avoid cravings, though I am not sure everyone would agree with that way of eating.

Posted by: mookie ()