Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Do I need a dehydrator?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: April 11, 2008 02:59PM

I am new to this way of eating. I fancy quite a lot of the recipes that use a dehydrator but is it worth purchasing one as I see that they are quite expensive.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Do I need a dehydrator?
Posted by: tanawana ()
Date: April 11, 2008 03:04PM

If you desire one, get it. You do not need one though.

Posted by: Utopian Life ()
Date: April 11, 2008 03:04PM

Posted by: frances ()
Date: April 11, 2008 03:08PM

This question has come up on this forum quite a few times, and you can find more answers to your question if you search the archives. The simple answer is that a dehydrator isn't at all necessary, but many people enjoy them. They make it possible to produce raw dishes which more closely mimic cooked foods you may be used to, and that makes them often very attractive to people trying to transition to a raw food diet. Many of the people on this forum have said that they eventually drifted away from using their dehydrators as they became more accustomed to eating raw, while I know some continue to use theirs regularly after years.

I've been transitioning to raw for about 9 months, and I'm still not eating 100% raw foods. I've enjoyed making dehydrated foods occasionally, and during the summer I dehydrated some fruits to store for the winter, but I could easily live without it. If I had the money to spend again I would probably put it toward a really nice masticating juicer.

Posted by: EZ rider ()
Date: April 11, 2008 03:37PM