Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

new here with a few questions
Posted by: earthmother213 ()
Date: May 13, 2008 04:18AM

hey everyone,

i'm chandelle. i've been a whole-foods organic vegan for three years along with my partner, jeremy, and our two children who are 3 and 18 months. this diet has been wonderful for all of us!

i'm studying to be a holistic nutritionist right now and my ultimate goal is to be a naturopathic doctor. my partner is a waldorf preschool teacher and we live a very gentle, holistic lifestyle. studying so much about nutrition, i've decided to attempt to transition my family to a raw diet. we're planning to try it for a month and go from there.

i have some questions for those of you with small children. i've looked over some of the meal plans for the adults on this site and elsewhere and while they might be fine for adults, they are usually deficient in some nutrients for growing children.

i feel pretty comfortable that i can provide them with enough protein through nuts, sprouts and other foods like that, and fat will come also from nuts as well as seeds, coconuts and so on. i'm examining the best sources for iron, calcium, zinc and other potentially problematic nutrients, and i feel confident that we can figure that out.