Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

calorie intake?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: May 15, 2008 08:15PM

HEY ALL!
im new to this joint - been experimenting with raw food for the last 3 months, slightly on and off, and i absolutely love the freshness, energy, all that stuff. i feel like a plant!

I am a fruititarian in this encarnation, my question concerns daily calorie intake. has anyone ever counted it and compared? does it matter? i think im floating somewhere around >1000 calories, but i am never hungry.

I usually eat fruit mornings, forage for other greens here and there in the afternoon and evening if necessary.

any ideas? THANKS

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: calorie intake?
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: May 15, 2008 11:16PM

I remember years ago...when I was eating mostly fruit....I would sometimes eat HUGE amounts at a sitting. Later, as I ate simpler, this improved. Now that I have eaten only one thing at a sitting for many years (mono-eating) this has self regulated. Back then, though, I would often eat 3000 or even 4000 calories in a day. I still lost weight though! True story. These days I eat all fruit of course (for many years now. I figure I probably eat close to 2000 calories a day. Pretty normal stuff.

-David Z. Mason

WWW.RawFoodFarm.com

Posted by: arugula ()
Date: May 16, 2008 12:04AM

Aguerrer, if you are happy with your weight this is not something that should concern you.

But if you want to be neurotic about it, you can get a food scale and weigh everything you put in your mouth before you put it in your mouth and use a nutrient tracker like cron-o-meter or nutritiondata.com or fitday.com and figure it out exactly.