Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Weight Loss on Raw Foods for a Runner
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: May 25, 2008 01:04AM

Hi!

I've been researching raw foods for a few months and finally decided to go raw this past Monday! I ate meat before but I'm not overweight, but I have a little extra. I'm 22 and at about 130 lbs, and I run ultra-marathons but right now I just came out of my bi-annual 2 week break from running and so I just started up again this past week.

I want to lose about 5-10 pounds, and since going raw I can tell something is changing on my body. I think I'm getting more muscle but I'm not sure. I just feel a little bulky and not very thin. I've only had a few detox symptoms; some interesting bowel movements last night and a weird break-out on my face (I usually never get pimples).

I've been eating mostly fruit and greens, and a few nuts/seeds. How many calories a day should I be aiming for, about 1200-1500?

I guess my main question is, if raw foods help you lose excess weight, how long does it take for it to come off? And what are your experiences with weight loss? Any other runners out there by any chance?

Thanks!! smiling smiley Have a great weekend!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Weight Loss on Raw Foods for a Runner
Posted by: arugula ()
Date: May 25, 2008 01:30AM

I would guess you'd need a baseline of about 2300 calories a day plus about 80 calories per mile you run per day. That's for maintenance.

I'd expect that with 1200-1500 per day you wouldn't have enough energy to run. Maybe for a few days, then you'd get really tired really fast.

I'd suggest bumping it up to at least 2000. You will still probably lose at least 1.5 lbs per week.

Date: May 25, 2008 03:09AM