Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Some newbie questions, thanks
Posted by: karmele ()
Date: July 10, 2008 11:29AM

Hi guys

I am new to this but find it very interesting and have started to try to follow an aproximately 50% raw food diet. I now I will not be able to do any more than that, for several personal reasons plus I lack the motivation and the commitment.

I have several questions, probably silly ones:

- Is it true that if I go for raw I should make a meal completely raw "to avoid the digestion process and get more energy as a result? Like, what happens if I have a meal full of vegetables and fruit and I put in my salad, say, a can of tuna? Or I have home-made muesli with say, soya milk?

- When you say you drink "purified water", how do you purify it? I have a "Brita" water jag, is that any good? Or do you refer to bottled mineral water?

- And the most important one, really: I try to make two meals a day out of raw food. I have a big big salad, some avocado, some nuts, and loads and loads of fruit. But someone I know said I should avoid eating too much fruit due to its high sugar content. Is this true? On a diet like this with limited things to be eaten if I avoid fruit I'll be left with not too much variety at all!

Thanks everyone in advance and apologies if all the above sound silly!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Some newbie questions, thanks
Posted by: Utopian Life ()
Date: July 10, 2008 12:23PM

Fruit is healthy, just eat various different kinds.

I drink tap water and spring water, but a water purification system or reverse osmosis is good, I think.