Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Fruit flies - or gnats
Posted by: westiemom ()
Date: October 07, 2008 09:17PM

As I'm new to this raw living lifestyle I've got kind of an odd question.

I've always kept fruit in the house for my kids, but not nearly as many as I do now. I like to keep them in a bowl on the counter for easy access for both me and them. Aside from that, I have all the empty space in my fridge filled with green and crunchy veggies.

Well I'm starting to have lots of fruit flies - or gnats - buzzing around my kitchen. This just started the last few days and I was wondering if anyone can tell me, other than keeping my fruits in the fridge, how do I keep them out?

It's kind of annoying and makes me feel like my kitchen is dirty. I like to keep a nice clean kitchen at all times and this is really starting to irritate me - and my family.

Tobie

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Fruit flies - or gnats
Posted by: Jgunn ()
Date: October 08, 2008 01:07AM

i cover my bowls (tuck under the edges) with cheesecloth or mosquito netting if yo cant find fine enough cheese cloth smiling smiley smiling smiley seems to keep them away enough that they dont flourish .. worst i ahve flies is in sept/oct it seems ... if i didnt know anybetter id say they were coming in form outside but they only have a short lifespan so i dont know smiling smiley

anyhoo i found the cheese cloth helps and if it doesnt i stick em in the fridge and put out the plastic fruit for decoration tongue sticking out smiley

i have also considered raising pitcher plants, venus flytraps, etc. to help with problem ..cuz well theyre really neat and kinda creepy all at the same time tongue sticking out smiley

...Jodi, the banana eating buddhist