Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

A possibly revolutionary thought about cacao
Posted by: phantom ()
Date: November 21, 2008 07:59PM

Now, I am no scientist (so anyone who has any education in this area, please chime in!! ^.^), but from all of my anecdotal self-education and personal experience, I recently had a EUREKA about why some people might have such a hard time with cacao.

And I absolutely had to come and post here after getting two "blah blah blah cacao is high in antioxidants but is actually evil" stories in my inbox from the Daily Raw Inspiration (which I love... but I also love cacao. tongue sticking out smiley )

Cacao is an MAO-B inhibitor. I do not know how strong, or how much cacao is required to reach full inhibition, etc. But it does have MAO action, and when combined with other herbal MAOIs, it can be an EXTREMELY powerful potentiator... so it got me thinking!

If a person is taking MAOIs (herbal or pharmaceutical), generally a safety diet is recommended, because the body can't break down tyramine. If a person consumes too much tyramine while MAO inhibited, headaches or a hypertensive crisis can occur--that sounds very similar to the problems people report having with cacao.

Most of the foods proscribed are things like M**T and CH**SE, but raw foodists *can* encounter problems with tyramine, too. Nama Shoyu, miso, avocado, nuts, fermented foods, dark red wines, can also result in some very negative symptoms. (Banana peels are high in tyramine, too >8) )

I have read that when using other herbal MAOIs, as little as 1-2g of raw cacao is required to create a seriously noticeable effect upon the body.