Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Raw Vegan Questions.
Posted by: mrgreen ()
Date: February 09, 2009 03:05AM

I'm a newbie to this so please bear with me smiling smiley

Can the diet that a raw vegan would adhere to be summarized as such:

Do Eat: Fruits, Vegetables, Nuts, and Berries.

Do Not Eat: Meats and Fish, Grains, Beans, Potatoes, Dairy, Sugar.

I got this list at a Paleo diet site (I moved Meat and Fish to the Do Not Eat list smiling smiley. My thinking is that since the foods are eaten raw and the above 'Do Not Eat' require preparation or processing of some sort that they are not eaten.

Am I being to picky?

Thank You.

"If you're not tough it's hard to survive in this world; and if you're not kind then you don't deserve to survive." –Raymond Chandler

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Raw Vegan Questions.
Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: February 09, 2009 03:31AM

The basic raw vegan diet is fruits, vegetables, nuts, and seeds.

Berries are a kind of fruit.

Another way to think of this diet is fruits, which most people eat raw anyways, and vegetables that are found in salads, that most people also eat raw anyways.

Outside of basic fruits and salads, you start getting into some controversial foods. say like fermented foods, dehydrated foods, starchy foods, sea vegetables, and super foods.

Then there are some ingredients that are found in raw gourmet foods, that aren't raw at all really: maple syrup, nutritional yeast, nama shoyu, salt, etc.

Nuts and seeds can be a challenge to find truly raw and fresh. Most of the ones in the store that say they are raw have been treated a temperatures above 105 degrees Farenheit.

Posted by: mrgreen ()
Date: February 09, 2009 03:58AM

Thank You Bryan: