Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

are all foods edible raw
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: December 04, 2008 12:36AM

I am new to this, i just read a recipe that beets can be eaten raw, does that also include the leaves? Also, I didn't realize one could eat yams/sweet potatoe raw either. So with all this I realized I had really limited myself in what one can eat raw.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Any books for a beginner?

Its a beautiful day,
Bandit

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: are all foods edible raw
Posted by: Jgunn ()
Date: December 04, 2008 12:42AM

David Z Mason compiled a great list of edible raw fruits/veggies/nuts etc. you should check out

click on the link that says master list of raw foods
[www.rawfoodfarm.com]

no need to limit yourself smiling smiley

Posted by: iLIVE ()
Date: December 04, 2008 01:06AM

i've never heard of a sweet potato or yam being edible raw; most yams are cooked where they derive from (tropics) by locals

Posted by: Lee_123 ()
Date: December 04, 2008 01:09AM

Define "food."

smiling smiley

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: December 04, 2008 01:42AM

Yes. Beet leaves are fine. That's all Swiss Chard is anyway (rootless beet). You CAN eat raw potato or yam...but I would avoid this...as there are sometimes toxic compounds in green potato....and various roots can be hard to digest raw.

-You (generally) aren't going to get anything that could possibly hurt you (in reasonable quantities) in the produce section of your local megamart. Try things you might not have tried before like:

-carrot, radish or beet tops
-fresh sweet corn
-green beans or peas/pea pods
-Jicama
-Other veggies like: brussels sprouts, asparagus or cabbage