Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

New to Raw Food
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: July 05, 2006 09:25PM

I am new to the raw food scene. I am currently a vegetarian and over weight. I want to a life change and become vegan and eating only raw food. What is the best way to make this transition?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: New to Raw Food
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: July 05, 2006 09:47PM

To analyze what percentage of raw food you ARE eating now....and are comfortable with on a daily basis.....and make a plan of small goals (with timetables) to increase that amount by 1-2% per week. You should lose no more than 1-2 lbs per week......and should have no problem reaching your raw goals with minimal discomfort.

-Just my opinions.

-David Mason

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: July 05, 2006 11:05PM

Oh:

-And stick to the fruits & vegetables that you LOVE. Avoid stuff you hate. Eat before you leave the house...bring a snack bag everywhere.....and NEVER depend on some one else to feed you. Always be the BEARER of fresh cut fruits and vegetables - and you will never go hungry. Preparation is a raw-fooders watch-word! winking smiley

-What do you think?

-David Mason

Posted by: geneticpromise ()
Date: July 06, 2006 03:45PM

Hi, healthme, and welcome!

My main message is to trust yourself. It's hard but worth it. Not to worry about how much weight you're losing, just shift to raw as you feel comfortable. Not to worry about being super-prepared or following recipes. It gives raw fooding bad PR. Being raw is really very easy technically. The body will direct you. Take care, rest, exercise while you detox. Trust yourself and don't let other raw fooders make you anxious about the process. It's totally natural!

good luck!