Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Low red blood cells count..
Posted by: eran ()
Date: October 21, 2009 06:21AM

Hello!

As I stated before, I eat a vegan whole food diet (not raw). I always advocate veganism as the moral and healthy choice.

Today I went to donate blood. They took a little sample from my finger, told me I'm blood type A+, and then told me I am not able to give blood..

The problem was that my red blood cells count ('hematocrit' it said on the sheet, which they explained is RBC count, but they don't speak much English so I don't really know) was too low. Apparently, males need to meet a 39% standard (I had 37%) and females 37%...

I am not a blood expert, but according to what I know, this may be a result of iron deficiency. Maybe vitamin A as well? Not sure. If anyone can enlighten me I'll be grateful.

I would also like to know what may be the cause for those deficiencies. I eat loads of fruit and veg, both raw and cooked (if cooked, neither fried nor baked). Try to eat a fair amount of green leafy veg as well..

Will be grateful for any assistance. I want to give blood! smiling smiley

Cheers!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/21/2009 06:26AM by eran.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Low red blood cells count..
Posted by: suncloud ()
Date: October 21, 2009 07:05AM

Hi eran,

Sounds like it could be an iron deficiency as you suspected. Here's a recent post on iron deficiency from ilikerawfood (currently on page 2):

[www.rawfoodsupport.com]

Posted by: petrichor ()
Date: October 21, 2009 04:42PM

Try beet juice- good source of easy to assimilate iron and known to be a blood builder.

Posted by: PrescottAZ ()
Date: October 25, 2009 08:10PM

I just had a chem panel and my RBC is high. I juice beets 3 times a week.