Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Protein Recycling
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: January 26, 2010 03:07AM

I'm new to raw foods and had a question about something I read on the website. It states this about complete and incomplete proteins, "This false conclusion (that plant proteins are incomplete) was drawn before we discovered the bodies protein recycling mechanism and its ability to "complete" any amino acid mix from our bodies amino acid pool." Where can I find out more about this protein recycling mechanism? Is it in a specific textbook or journal article?

Thanks in advance!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Protein Recycling
Posted by: swimmer ()
Date: January 26, 2010 04:15AM

Human cellular biology anyone?

Could you post the link to the article so we can read it in context.

From what I understand, the author is confusing two functions. Proteins are created from amino acid chains, but that is a different function from protein recycling. Protein recycling refers to moving a protein to a site that it is needed, so it can interlock with a receptor and be transported into the cell.

There are others on this site who are better versed in cellular biology then I am who could answer this better.

But here is a couple of cool geek sites I came across:

[people.eku.edu] (really cool animations)
[biology.clc.uc.edu] (has a description of protein construction, and cool models amino acids.

Posted by: loeve ()
Date: January 26, 2010 12:43PM

Nice links, Swimmer.

"Where can I find out more about this protein recycling mechanism? Is it in a specific textbook or journal article?"

One protein recycling mechanism is called autophagy. Here's an article-- [www.nature.com] on autophagy.