Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Starch & Salt cravings?
Posted by: stellium ()
Date: April 30, 2010 03:01AM

OK, I'm new to this.... been vegan only 6mos, love it. Got a blender and was curious about raw foods in general, my diet has been mostly whole foods (cooked and not) but I want to move to all cooked or 75%. Not going to be like "I failed" and have that attitude with this but since I stopped cooking almost entirely, TODAY I craved saliness and starch. I used to eat potatoes so much. They're so easy to make so many different ways! So I bought some potato chips. SICK, not a good choice I know. I've also been super active the past two-three weeks, working out 30min-3hrs a day, depending on how far I walk (6miles sometimes) and I bike as transportation... I am SO HUNGRY since I stopped cooking! I am burning through calories! I am focused in a new way, I have no idea what to do with this new kind of energy!

ANYHOW, I want to stick with this. I need to read more online about recipes. HOWEVER... what is a good dry salty crunchy snack that replaces this starch?

I notice I crave saltiness quite often. I try to drink a lot of water. I use only real himilayan red salt, but still should cut back? I try listening to my body and give it what it wants. Luckily it's totally turned off by processed foods. Now to turn off the cooked food desires. What a journey.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Starch & Salt cravings?
Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: April 30, 2010 01:31PM