Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Stomach troubles?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: June 05, 2010 12:04AM

Hi everyone!
I am new to raw food and was so excited to start. I bought books, a blender, and my dehydrator's in the mail. But I have been having some physical pains. My head hurts a lot, and right now I am in bed with a stomach ache. It also happened last week, right after my first raw meal. My mom says it's from the nuts, or too much "roughage." I really want this to work. I'm eating so many greens and fresh fruit and I was promised that it would help me feel better. What should I eat/ do/ change to avoid stomach and head upsets?
Thanks!
~Eliana

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Stomach troubles?
Posted by: loeve ()
Date: June 05, 2010 12:59AM

It does take time to get used to roughage. Also it sounds to me like it could be a mineral balance issue causing the headaches and possibly stomach upset as well. The mineral balance of fruits and greens is a lot different than what your body was probably used to. It takes several days to weeks for the body to transition. Programs like at nutritiondata.com can help check nutrient intakes.

Posted by: loeve ()
Date: June 05, 2010 08:59AM

Hi again ELight, a headache can also be caused by low blood sugar. It's common to come up short on calories with raw foods.

Posted by: powerlifer ()
Date: June 05, 2010 10:08AM

ill second what loeve says about the low blood sugar/headache, so many people dismiss it as "detox" instead when its likely the former.

see how you get on for a week or so and if theres no change then maybe you can partially go raw instead of full until your body adapts.

Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: June 05, 2010 11:58AM