Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Black bell pepper safe to eat????
Date: September 03, 2010 12:32PM

I am growing a red bell pepper plant and the one(!) fruit on there never went red, for about a month it's stayed green, with a lot of black colour and is shrivelled.

Not sure if it's safe to eat? I'm assuming it doesn't want to ever turn red, but I don't know if the darkened skin is a sign of some kind of rot or plant defiency.

Anyone experienced in bell peppers?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Black bell pepper safe to eat????
Posted by: powerlifer ()
Date: September 03, 2010 01:00PM

Im no expert in gardening etc but id say give it a miss especially since its shrivelled also.

Not worth getting ill over i say.

Date: September 03, 2010 01:37PM

when i say shrivelled, i mean kind of skinny and shrunken rather than the shrivelled effect you get in rotting produce. yeah, not worth getting ill over but this is my prized only fruit on the whole plant! I can't bear to throw it away winking smiley

Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: September 03, 2010 01:51PM

A green pepper should ripen into a red or orange one. Maybe it's the wrong light/soil/amendments to bring it to fruition? Don eat it, but do core it and pull out the seeds; see if they are not moldy or otherwise unhealthy looking. It's too late this season, but I say air dry them and save them in an envelope in a dark drawer for next year--maybe you'll have better luck with an offspring plant!

Posted by: la_veronique ()
Date: September 03, 2010 05:48PM

you may not be able to "bear throwing it away" because its your only prized fruit however, better to do that than throw away your health. your body is your only prized fruit of physical corporeal existence.

Posted by: Curator ()