Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Beginner in need of reference materials
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: July 10, 2006 09:06PM

Hi Everyone!

I am new to the concept of raw foods. Without even reading anything about it I am instinctively drawn to the practical value of the diet; it seems to me that any foods that move easily through the digestive tract while releasing water and vitamins and minerals in thier pure state has to be a more healthy diet than eating dead foods that sit in your stomach for too long.

I am just having trouble getting started because I need to begin in a very basic, uncomplicated way. What I need is a healthier diet rather than a new obsession. There just seem to be so many books and so much complication on the subject, when what I really need is the following:

a) simple meal plans or recipes that require little time and effort. I am too busy for complicated recipes and equipment that don't seem very natural to me anyway. Making salads and lettuce rolls is fine, making things that require too much dicing and prep work and equipment is a bit too much for me right now (perhaps when I get more acclimated...)

and

b) nutritional info about how much of each food I should be consuming daily.

I am wondering if anyone can reccommend some books, websites or give me tips on simple meals?

Thanks! Katie

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Beginner in need of reference materials
Posted by: luna_sky_1 ()
Date: July 10, 2006 09:12PM

as for menu ideas, simply increase the amount of raw foods you are eating now.