Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Amaranth flour pancakes - is this raw?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: December 31, 2010 07:44PM

Hey everyone I'm very new to this raw food diet so I hope someone here can help. I can't find the answer to this question so here goes: I've been making pancakes using amaranth, buckwheat and brown rice flour, but am I somehow destroying the nutrients and enzymes by heating them in the pan? Should I try to cook them on very low heat? I want to keep my diet 100% raw, so I'm not sure if this qualifies.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Amaranth flour pancakes - is this raw?
Date: December 31, 2010 08:02PM

If you're cooking it, it's not raw. Here's the test, if you could put your hand in the pan and hold it there for as long as the pancake and You're not cooking, then the pancake isn't.
The max temperature is 118 degrees or so. But if this is all you're eating that's not raw you're doing pretty great winking smiley.

Date: December 31, 2010 08:55PM

Thanks, that's kind of what I figured. I still want to know if the heat above 118 degrees is actually destroying any of the nutrients, can anyone clarify? I understand that cooking other foods at high temperatures breaks down the nutrients, but are these flours an exception?

Posted by: Curator ()
Date: December 31, 2010 09:37PM