Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Transition & Compulsive/Emotional Eating
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: February 20, 2011 01:38PM

Hello, My name is Marci and I am a newbie smiling smiley I have however been a silent observer of this forum for quite sometime now and I wish to thank and congratulate you all for this wonderful community!

I've tried transitioning to raw three times over the last year and failed miserably. It was scary... Every time I fell off the wagon I would gorge myself to the point I'd gain an extra 15-25 lbs. I realised that, at 30+ years & 300+ lbs, I have such an addictive relationship with cooked food that keeping it in my diet, no matter at how small a percentage, will just not work for me.

So, since the much preferred slow and gradual transition was not a match for me, two weeks ago I decided to take an all or nothing approach and go 100% raw overnight. I am going strong!

Well, I'm experiencing the worst, most debilitating detox I'd ever feared... I am so "sick" I can only eat a couple of apples a day (how ironic) & so weak and fainty that I spend the entire day in bed. Most days I can't even find the energy/strength to take a quick showersad smiley

I thought of maybe adding a little something to ease things down a bit, to be more functional but, apart from not being able to keep it down, I am just terrified of opening this small window... the flood WILL come right back in!

I do have the will power and determination to tough this through. Yet, I'm so worried... I was warned by a fellow raw fooder that all this "housecleaning" and sedentarism will shoot huge blood clots all over my body and when I finally do get out of bed it will be the end of me... That scared the *** out of me!!!