Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Where does the Raw Vegan community stand on Root Canals?
Posted by: WheatgrassYogi ()
Date: August 23, 2011 07:27PM

I may be posting this at the wrong Forum, but I feel I'll get the best response here.
I have an infected, or abscessed, tooth that needs attention.....either a Root Canal or Extraction. Both options seem no-win to me. I'd like to know Raw Vegan philosophy on the issue.
Does anyone here have experience and/or an opinion?......WY

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Where does the Raw Vegan community stand on Root Canals?
Posted by: pborst ()
Date: August 23, 2011 07:47PM

Henry,

Sorry to hear about your situation. I will be honest. I have heard the term growing up but didn't even know. Still, it sounds like a lot depends on which tooth and your insurance and its limits. Based on what I've read, unless there were good reasons to the contrary, I'go root canal. [users.forthnet.gr] Is there a third alternative??? There is something called pulp capping. [www.mgoldmandds.com] Don't know much about it or if it is less invasive. Prefer you to have a full set of alternatives though.

Best.

Paul

Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: August 23, 2011 08:35PM

I've had it done and it wasn't that bad for me, I have heard stories of less than lovely experiences though. The stuff they fill your root with is the same as the "white" fillings they do these days. I have some of those composite resin fillings that were put in to replace metal amalgam ones and have since learned that they have their own issues of toxicity. So now I have a root canal, some plastic fillings, some metal fillings and have had one extraction and my wisdom teeth out.