Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

I new and transitioning, can use pointers and help!
Posted by: Hobbes ()
Date: January 03, 2015 05:50AM

Hi!

I'm a 125lb 5'7" guy. I've been eating a vegan diet for past six years and for about half a year now the raw food diet has become more and more interesting to me. I've been trying to transition into it, so I can start eating at least 80% raw a day and possibly 100%, but I still enjoy treats and eating out.

Trying to get a routine down, I try to make a smoothie for breakfast when I can. I But when I have to rush to work, I don't have time for it. I work in a grocery store, so I can buy things here or there. I just aim to make a smoothie later. My smoothies consist of juiced carrots, celery and ginger (I throw in cabbage, kale stems, broccoli stems, etc when I have em) which I blend with bananas, spinach, and spices/maca/etc. If I can't get one in the morning, I try to squeeze one in later in the day.

My lunches have been raw vegetables tossed with Braggs and flax oil that I pile onto a soaked cashew spread (with raw vegitables, flax oil, nutritional yeast, etc for flavor) I make using a blender. This is wrapped in a wheat tortilla. I make 2-3 of them.

For snacks and in between meals, I go for nuts, dried fruit (or making a bar out of the two) and fresh fruit.

At I home I basically eat the same way. A salad here or there.

My main staple diet has always been beans and rice. I've been trying to rely on nuts more and think of ways to transition.

What I really need are simple, protein filled lunches that aren't too hard to make or cheap ones I can buy on the go and prepare in 10 minutes.

Dinner ideas are welcome too.