Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Constipation on Raw Foods
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: August 29, 2009 05:25AM

Hello All,

They call me Asia (Assiah). I am new to raw foods and wanted to ask about severe constipation, bloating and gas when new to a raw food diet. Please be kind in your responses as I am just seeking information on how to relieve this constipation. My diet consists of green smoothies, lots of fruit, fruit fruit, wheat grass shots, green salads and green juices. I also eat organic avocado because I exercise plenty during the day as I am a personal trainer. I am finding that if I eat raw foods for six days then I don't have a bowel movement for six days. If I eat one cooked meal, I will move my bowels the next morning. I have tried flax seeds and have taken much advice of many raw foodist on how to move the bowels. Most raw foodists tell me that they have never had this experience when transitioning to raw foods. Please help. I am tired of doing enemas and colonics. I moved my bowels alot more before I was on raw foods.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Constipation on Raw Foods
Posted by: suncloud ()
Date: August 29, 2009 06:19AM

You might try adding just a few nuts and/or seeds to your raw food diet and see if that helps. Seems to work very well for me.

Also, does your exercise routine include the inverted yoga poses (standing on your head, shoulder stand, plow, etc.)? Those poses stimulate bowel activity.

Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: August 29, 2009 06:39AM

Try eating an entire large head of romaine lettuce every night and then see if your bowels are still stuck. Its best if you eat the lettuce plain. Just roll each lettuce leaf into a cigar and eat it, until you've consumed the entire head.