Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Doing raw foods right with an active lifestyle
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: December 25, 2009 01:19PM

Hi everybody,

First of all I would like to say that I am relatively new to this particular lifestyle and I am very interested in the positive effects of the raw food diet on my sports performance. I have been a vegan for quite a while and I have tried to make the transition slowly to a raw food lifestyle after reading loads of texts on how to do it right. I came across some problems actually and this is my first attempt to gather some information from people who have real life experience with this kind of thing.

I started with making smoothies based on hempseed and apples in the morning as breakfast every day, and gradually adding more raw components to my meals every day. This to the point I ate 90% raw everyday and only cooked some potatoes in the evening for a week. I had a bad expierence at some point that I did not have enough energy to swim anymore. I would like to tell you I swim for an average of 4 kilometres a day and travel a lot with my bike also. After the week on the 90 percent raw I felt my muscles hurt a lot, and I felt like I was burning protein as a fuel. I was afraid I was losing muscle-mass and I started cooking food again, eating uncontrollable and feeling sick.

My questions are actually:

- How do you know if you are eating enough? I was having trouble with eating so much fruit to serve my need for carbohydrates. I ate a lot of dried dates en apricots also. But when I calculated the amount of calories I consumed I came out on 1400 kilocalories a day. I know it's about the amount of carbohydrates in grams, but it seemed very low for my standards.