Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Questions, questions...
Posted by: rab ()
Date: February 16, 2010 11:39PM

I have been on raw food for 16 days now. It was not so hard for me, since I have been fasting for many years (Orthodox Christian). I have lost some weight, which is great, and I am looking forward to losing more. The question is, after I reach the weight which is good for me, how do I maintain it?
At the moment, I am eating fruits, greens and nuts from the grocery store. Making smoothies. So, how do people maintain ideal (or close to it) weight when on raw food?

Another question is: B12. So, if monkeys get it from termites, can we eat apples with worms so that we can have enough B12? Or do we really have to use supplements? Or is there a third solution?

Thanks a lot, I am glad that there is a place like this!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/16/2010 11:43PM by rab.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Questions, questions...
Posted by: life101 ()
Date: February 17, 2010 01:31AM

Welcome Rab, I don't have the ideal answer for you regarding weight. Many eat low fat and they maintain their weight that way along with physical activity. I don't eat 10% or less of fat per day so I'm not at an ideal weight, though I'm not overly fat either. What I can say is that I've been noticing that those that are in shape as a raw foodist do many of the same things as SAD (Standard American Diet) eaters, they exercise or have a high level of physical activity. I find that when I'm less active, I tend to gain weight.