Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Thinning hair (I'm female!)
Posted by: Trive ()
Date: June 06, 2010 08:13AM

Lots of raw food folks report their hair getting thicker. Not me. I am thinning and I am female, so this is concerning me a lot. I have had VERY thick hair my whole life, but in just the last few months I notice that it is definitely thinning.

I have been eating raw foods for 10 months. Could I be missing something from my diet that would have that effect?

I'm 55, although I don't think it's related to age, but maybe it is?

Any ideas as to what I could/should do?

My favorite raw vegan

Re: Thinning hair (I'm female!)
Posted by: Curator ()
Date: June 06, 2010 08:39AM

Mal-nutrition can cause hair loss, and from what I've researched it seems its not uncommon for people on the raw, or even normal vegetarian or vegan diets to face that problem if they dont make sure they are getting all of their nutritional needs met, which can be done from what Ive seen on a raw diet, as long as one has enough variety available to them, and a few different supplements... a nutritionist might be worth getting a consult with, also parasites are possible as well, my uncle jay had a similar problem, he kept losing weight and his hair got really sparse, and it turned out he had a huuuuuuuuuuuuuge tape worm... have you been losing any weight?

Posted by: flipperjan ()
Date: June 06, 2010 10:47AM

When my thyroid became underactive my hair fell out in worrying quantities.

Posted by: powerlifer ()
Date: June 06, 2010 11:12AM

the thyroid is the most likely possibility, are you consuming seaweeds if not you have no source of iodine which will cause your thyroid to become underactive.