Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

What raw vegan foods are good against skin-disorders?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: August 29, 2006 06:00PM

Hi, my name is Kevin. I'm relatively new to raw foodism, and am still eating only about 60% raw (under my current circumstances, to stop eating cooked "foods" totally is extremely difficult). Anyway, I had cystic acne breakouts, which is simply an extreme form of acne that usually scars the skin of host of the disorder. In short, it's horribly horrible; I've had some very frustrating and depressing moments due to it for years. The good news is, a few weeks into my change of eating habit to semi-raw foodism I began to notice that the severity and frequency of breakouts began to diminish considerably. I'm also noticing that I'm exfoliating much more rapidly, and my skin isn't nearly as oily as it was before.

While I'm still working towards 100% raw, do you guys know any raw vegan foods that are particularly effective against skin disorders? I've learned that apricots and mangos are a few; what are others?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: What raw vegan foods are good against skin-disorders?
Posted by: m ()
Date: August 29, 2006 08:05PM

yes!!! i suffered from cystic acne too...until started eating more raw foods. but, there are few essential things that were a great addition to my diet:

1) FLAXSEED OIL!!!!! 2-3tbsp a day will do wonders for inflammatory conditions in the skin. it is also a wonderful remedy for eczema. mix it in smoothies, or make salad dressings out of it. you must take this dosage daily for about 3-4 weeks, then you can cut down to about 1 tbsp/day maintanence.

2) probiotics help boost immunity, decrease candida which may be contributing.