Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
Top 3 Foods According to Hippocrates Institute Director
Posted by: RawPracticalist ()
Date: February 21, 2011 12:53AM

Dr. Clement exclaimed that the top 3 foods are:

1) Algae from Klamath Lake
2) Sea Vegetables
3) Sprouts/ Grasses

I am new to this so I went to the store but could not find these foods, am I on the wrong planet?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Top 3 Foods According to Hippocrates Institute Director
Posted by: banana who ()
Date: February 21, 2011 01:05AM

What store did you visit? Any health store or Whole Foods would have all three.

Posted by: Utopian Life ()
Date: February 21, 2011 01:05AM

I wouldn't say those are the top three foods at all. Maybe kale, chard, and collards.

Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: February 21, 2011 01:09AM

Hello, RawPracticalist!

Sea vegetables are sea weeds, and are usually sold dried in packets at the health food store. They are generally heat processed, so are not truly raw, but even so have a wealth of minerals and iodine. They need to be rehydrated for use. If you live near the seaside, you may be able to find things like kelp raw.

Sprouts and grasses(wheatgrass, barleygrass) can be found in clamshell packaging[in the case of sprouts] and in black oblong growing trays[in the case of grasses] in the cooler at many health food and even grocery stores, but are cheaper to grow at home from seeds. Sprouts are nutrient powerhouses and make a tasty addition to salads and grasses are juiced to be consumed as a medicinal beverage. Please visit the Juicing and Sprouting forums at this site for ideas.