Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Food Scientist Needs Help! Enzymes in Foods
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: September 22, 2006 07:30PM

I am a food science student at the University of Florida working on my Ph.D. and I need some help.

I am interested in food processing method that doesn't require heat, and leaves natural Enzymes in their natural state. Everybody talks about how good enzymes from raw foods are for your diet, but I am having a hard time finding the specific enzymes that are good for you. I have a list started, but I could use some help finding more.

So basically if you know of a specific enzyme (example: superoxide dismutase that acts as an antioxidant) found in raw foods but not neccesarily in cooked foods please let me know.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Food Scientist Needs Help! Enzymes in Foods
Posted by: arugula ()
Date: September 22, 2006 09:14PM

I think you should contact Dr. Diane Barrett of UC Davis. in the Dept. of Food Science and Technology. This is her specialty. She can point you to some appropriate papers.

[foodscience.ucdavis.edu]

PS I went to UF, too!

Posted by: jono ()
Date: September 22, 2006 09:55PM

bromelain, a group of proteases from pineapples, ive read is absorbed into the bloodstream to some extent... the Germans have been researching the anti-inflammatory effects of this enzyme for some time. other fruits like figs, papayas, and kiwis are also rich in proteases.