Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Understanding what is bad about cooking
Posted by: dammyg ()
Date: February 14, 2012 02:46AM

Hi, I am new to this forum, but I have already read through many different articles here, thank you for all the information you have provided.

I am a keep cook, and like to keep healthy. I already know quite a lot about health issues and nutrition, but want to understand further.
I am not a complete raw-food eater. However, I do believe that eating raw is healthy and try not to over cook food as much as possible.

The one thing I want to learn more about is what is actually changed in foods cooked below boiling points. I understand how cooking over 100 degrees to boile and hence remove water and oxygen can cause changes, and also how burning and causing Malliard reactions can cause changed, but cooking below boiling point to denature proteins and possibly other reactions in something I can not find more information about. What exactly is happening at these lower temperatures? What foods are weaker to these lower temperatures and which stronger. Please any information will be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Understanding what is bad about cooking
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: February 14, 2012 09:40AM

You can find plenty of info at google scholar. There's also plenty of evidence that microwave cooking is worse than infered cooking, as it destroys much more nutrients.

Cheers,
geo

Posted by: rawalice ()
Date: February 14, 2012 04:43PM

Cooking destroys enzymes.

Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: February 14, 2012 06:15PM