Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

question about almonds/milk
Posted by: minou33 ()
Date: November 25, 2006 02:17AM

I have really fallen in love with almond milk. I peel my almonds which is a long tedious process... it takes me about an hour to peel about 2 cups! And I ususally finish the milk up in two days ( I like it strong!).

I was wondering if everyone does this? Is there an easier way? I had heard peeling allowed for a much better flavor. I also notice that when I peel my almonds.. I find that there are some that look okay on the outside but don't look too good peeled. I end up discarding quite a few almonds because I feel as if the color is off (too yellowish..too soft, etc.) Should I be worried about my supplier?

I am new to raw foods and have actually never eaten almonds (ever!) until now. So I know nothing about how they are "suppossed" to look and feel. They do taste delicious though in the milk... how do you tell is almonds are bad?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: question about almonds/milk
Posted by: emmylou ()
Date: November 26, 2006 11:33AM

Hi

Flavor is great with the skin..

I love my Almond milk as well and also new to raw foods. I soak my almonds well but I do not peel them. I blend them well and strain well in a cheese cloth..the tasted is wonderful and the color is only a slight brown..but I don't care what color it is. I do make sure I buy good almonds, I can tell a differnce from grocery to grocery. I always buy organic and raw.

Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: November 26, 2006 03:06PM

Hi,