Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Mold on my sprouts?
Posted by: HH ()
Date: March 04, 2014 03:11PM

Someone on here recently told me that the white stuff that forms on sprouts is not mold. I decided to start growing sprouts again but just want to make sure that my latest batch is definitely mold free. Here's a pic: [imgur.com]

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Mold on my sprouts?
Posted by: SueZ ()
Date: March 04, 2014 03:38PM

I can't tell from the picture what's going on other than those are going to taste very bitter since they are way overgrown. IMO.

***Oops. Ok now I see you sprouted wheat berries. I have no experience with those so I have no idea how they will taste or how long to grow them.

[ruralspin.com]

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 03/04/2014 03:52PM by SueZ.

Date: March 04, 2014 05:15PM

You can't see that white stuff? How can you tell that they're overgrown?

Posted by: jtprindl ()
Date: March 04, 2014 05:35PM

HH Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> You can't see that white stuff? How can you tell
> that they're overgrown?

Are you trying to grow wheatgrass?

Posted by: swimmer ()
Date: March 04, 2014 06:46PM

The pros around here can probably answer better than me, but I've been sprouting for a while so maybe this will help.

They look like root hairs on overgrown sprouts but it's hard to tell. I sometimes use a magnifying loop to check sprouts. Maybe my eyes are just gettin' old,

THeSt0rm's description is really accurate. Root hairs should grow almost "conifer" like from the roots, with tiny branches. Mold kinda webs itself all over the mass of sprouts less organized.

There is usually a "musty" smell when they go moldy.