Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Is this normal?
Posted by: Samantha24 ()
Date: July 10, 2015 05:02AM

Hi,

I am new to the whole concept of Raw Foods, and I wanted to ask if something that I am going through is normal.

Basically, back around the middle of June I was eating lots of fruits and veggies, some lightly sauteed in the evening, with a piece of fish or meat.

Then I heard about raw foods, and cut out the meat and anything else that was not raw. I was having juice, smoothies, and big salads for dinner.

I went about 11 days like this (9-11, as some days in the beginning I had a few things that might not be raw). I did not really get any detox symptoms, save for a day or two when I was really tired. I was actually surprised that I was not getting symptoms.

Then I got scared of the whole lack of protein thing, because raw foodists seemed to be eating so much more than me to get protein. I looked at their daily portions and knew I could not sustain that long-term financially.

So I ate some meat that someone had cooked in a skillet, in butter, on a high setting. Not even organic meat. I also ate two tins of sardines, and even made a smoothie loaded with protein powder. This was about 6 pm.

I felt ok, but then the next day, around noon, I made a juice. The more I drank the juice, the sicker I started to feel (I had drank this juice for two weeks before, no problem). Then I had a smoothie around 2 or 3 pm, and everything went haywire. The smoothie was fruits and veggies, like I normally do, but I felt so sick to the stomach and even had that vomit taste. I was fighting off urges to vomit at times. (Someone else had the same juice and smoothie as me, drinking from the same batch, and did not get sick.)