Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

A vegan dilemma: Caring for bees
Posted by: Tai ()
Date: September 20, 2015 06:33AM

Recently my friend's commercial property had a beehive and the neighbors were going to kill the bees. We offered to house the bees in our garden. A beekeeper rescuer brought the bees over and they have thrived.

As a vegan, I always thought that humans didn't need to harvest any honey and that whatever honey bees make, that is what they will eat. This was the first time I ever cared for bees. One day the beekeeper came over and brought to me a lot of honey comb. He said the bees needed space. I have no experience in this field and I couldn't argue with him. Suddenly I have pounds and pounds of honey comb. Almost everyday, I put out a plate of honey water for the bees. I noticed that bees like to drink water, as I sometimes see them drinking water from a shallow crevice of our pond. The bees love the honey water. I learned never to put out straight honey, because they can get stuck in the honey.

I have only experimented with one tray. I let the honey drip out of the comb through a sieve. Then when the honey comb wax was mostly empty, I put it outside for the bees. They loved it. THe parts of the wax that was not bent and was straight, the bees cleaned perfectly and the wax was almost a bright beige white. THe wax that was bent was cleaned to a degree by the bees but was too merged with the honey, so the wax is more of a brown color.