Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Passion fruit made easy
Posted by: Tai ()
Date: October 30, 2015 03:54AM

I will share with you some of the lessons from a summer full of passion fruit.

Passion fruit imparts a wonderful floral exotic sweet tartness to a dish or beverage, and people would probably eat them more often, if there were not so many seeds. Here I show how to remove the fruit from the seeds.

Unfortunately, the memory on my device became full and cut off my video, so I had to do a part 2. I am still learning how to hold my tablet when I take a video, so sorry for the rough footage.

My vine was young in the previous years and this year it just took off and produced so much fruit. Initially, I did just eat the fruit in fruit salads, but after getting so much fruit, I needed a method of processing a lot of fruit at once.

Passion fruit made easy, part 1

[www.youtube.com]

Passion fruit made easy, part 2

[www.youtube.com]

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Passion fruit made easy
Date: October 31, 2015 03:53AM

Summary of my technique is as follows:

Mash passion fruit through a wide screen stainless steel sieve with a fork. My experience is that I get 1:1 ratio of juice and pulp. The pulp is mainly seeds with some fruit still attached and the seeds are still covered with some passion fruit.

I refrigerate the separated juice and add to sweet juices, like watermelon.