Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

High Glycemic Fruits
Posted by: woodfe ()
Date: January 07, 2007 03:12PM

I have been graduating towards 100% raw for the last 2 years from a former SAD diet. During the 1st year I went vegan, eating all vegetables & cooked sweet potatoes. During the next 6 months I replaced the cooked sweet potatoes with berries, apples & honey. During the most recent 6 months I replaced the honey with high glycemic fruit such as watermelons, pineapple & dates and was 100% raw.

I've noticed intense cravings with the high glycemic fruits. I crave fatty meats & cooked carbs; I have also had occasional canidia issues. Will the cravings pass with time or should I take the higher glycemic fruits out of my diet? My moods & temperments are definitely better with the higher glycemic fruits - I feel relaxed, joyful & on top of the world - only issue is the intense cravings.

I im interested in anyone's comments if they have experienced the same cravings witht the higher glycemic fruits and what they did to resolve the issue. Elizabeth

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: High Glycemic Fruits
Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: January 07, 2007 08:08PM

You didn't mention what your fat intake is, as a percentage of calorie. This is the biggest factor in candida. Lower your fat intake down to 10% of your calories, and the candida will leave, as well as any sugar related issues and problems.

Bananas are a great low glycemic food (52-55, 55 is considered the max of low). They are very filling and versatile. They make a great smoothie, frozen ice cream, and are fine to eat by themselves. Make sure the bananas you eat are ripe, that is, they have very frecked skin, not pure yellow skin.