Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Greens?
Posted by: Pyratekk ()
Date: February 17, 2007 09:19PM

I spoke to a raw mama recently who said that she doesn't eat greens. She only eats fruits and a few nuts and that's it. She is also a mono eater. I thought that greens were needed to prevent certein defeciencies? I'm very new to this so I may be wrong - but can someone explain this?

~Christi~
Natural Living Info
AP/NL mama to Jacob 10/25/2006

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Greens?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: February 17, 2007 09:40PM

Most commerical fruits are nutrient deficient, so greens provide a good balancing factor. [www.vibrancy.homestead.com]

Posted by: suncloud ()
Date: February 18, 2007 12:54AM

Hi Pyratekk,

I'm just guessing, but your friend may have a hard time with greens. I do, but I try to eat them anyway because I get hungry after a few days if I don't. They help me stay satisfied on a raw food diet, and I like them.

Even a diet high in a variety of fruit and nuts is very possibly lacking something without greens. I'm just basing that on my experience of getting so hungry when I go without vegetables.

I don't really know whether a fruit and nut/seed diet without greens is actually lacking in some of the known essential nutrients or whether there is something more subtle and as yet scientifically undiscovered at play.